Curriculum Design 2018-10-25T11:29:40+00:00

Curriculum Design

The NZ Curriculum contains eight main learning areas as follows

  • English

  • Mathematics and Statistics

  • Science

  • Social Studies

  • Health and Physical Education

  • The Arts

  • Learning Languages

A Commitment to following essential skills 

  • Thinking

  • Understanding

  • Relating

  • Managing Self

  • Participating and contributing

When designing programmes of learning at Matarau School we are especially mindful of

  • The primacy of English and Mathematics as key foundations to learning

  • The need for breadth of content and depth of inquiry

  • The value of co-construction and learner choice

  • The value of inquiry learning

  • The value of self-management

  • The value of authentic (relevant and connected) learning contexts

  • The necessity of planned and purposeful teaching and of sequential skills development

Planning and curriculum delivery guidelines aim for a balanced approach to learning and assessment